Ocoee Lions Club


Free Health Fair

Free Health Fair on Sunday, September 15th from 1-3PM.

Location:  Haïtien Orlando Baptist Temple ( Legliz Batis tanp Ayisyen Orlando), 4400 North Powers Dr, Orlando, FL 32818 

What is being offered:  Diabetes, Eye (adult and children), and blood pressure screenings at no cost.

We will also be collecting used eyeglasses, frames, readers, sunglasses, and hearing aids for reuse to those in need.

#ocoee #ocoeelionsclub #wintergardenlionsclub #lionsclub #free #healthfair #freehealthfair #diabetes #eyescreening #usedeyeglasses #donations

Nominated for 2018 Attraction of the Year

The Asylum Haunted Hospital was nominated for 2018 Attraction of the Year by Floridahauntedhouse.com.  We are so very excited to receive this nomination.  Come out in 2019 to see what the fuss is about.

To learn more go to:   https://www.floridahauntedhouses.com/halloween/the-asylum-presented-by-ocoee-lions-club-fl.html. 

Casting and Sponsor Call

Coming this Fall, for the 4th year, The Asylum Haunted Hospital (aka Asylum), presented by Ocoee Lions Club. This haunted house is unique as it is in 100% darkness and all you have is a small flashlight to light your way through the halls of the Asylum.

We have a need for makeup artists. The makeup artist will assist with getting the actors in makeup before the hospital opens to “patrons”. Makeup call time is 5PM. To volunteer at the haunt, you must be 14 year or older. In addition to the nights we are open we will have a Costume Fitting meeting on September 14th and a dress rehearsal on October 14th. The actors and makeup artists need to commit to all dates. As a reminder all positions are volunteer (this is a charity fundraising event) and the time at the haunt does quality for Bright Future volunteer and community service hours.

We are also looking for sponsors for the event. Sponsors will be listed on our website, Facebook, our ads for the event, and for donations over $200 the sponsor will be added to the event flyer.

We will be open from 7 to 10 PM ET on October 18, 19, 24, 25, 26, and 30. With 7 to 7:30PM being a no scare time so that little kids and others can see the haunt in a non-scary setting.

If you are interested in learning more please email Lion Melissa or Lion Tracey at ocoeelionsclub@gmail.com or call 321-247-7441

The haunt will be held at 108 Taylor St., Ocoee, FL. Entry fee for patrons is $5. The proceeds of this house go to the Ocoee Lions Foundation, which is a tax-exempt, 501(c)(3), non-profit organization.

Link to Asylum Page: https://www.facebook.com/asylumolc

Link to Ocoee Lions Club Page: https://www.facebook.com/ocoeelionsclub/

Link to Ocoee Lions Club Website: http://ocoeelionsclub.com/

Officer Installation and New Member Induction

Ocoee Lions Club (L to R):  1st Row:  Lions Rosemary Wilsen, Diane Isaacs, Melissa Tanner, Julio Ochoa, and Mike McEvers; 2nd Row:  Lions Jim Sills, Cathy Sills, Tracey Tanner, and Brittania Rodney; 3rd Row:  Lions Fred Wilsen, Jeremiah Bradford, Scott William, and Steve Van Varick

On June 10th the Ocoee Lions Club hosted the 2019-2020 Officer Installation and New Member Induction ceremony.  District Governor Elect Greg Evans conducted the ceremony.  It was a Train Theme.

The following officers will be sworn in on Monday, June 10th:

  • President: Lion Melissa Tanner
  • 1st Vice:  Lion Brittania Rodney
  • 2nd Vice:  Lion Jim Sills
  • Treasure/Financial Secretary:  Lion Tracey Tanner
  • Recording Secretary:  Lion Rosemary Wilsen
  • Administrative Secretary:  Lion Kimberly Huffman (pending)
  • Club Administrator:   Lion Cathy Sills
  • Membership Chair: Lion Kimberly Huffman (Pending)
  • Marketing Communications Chair:   Lion Melissa Tanner
  • Lion Tamer:  Lion Scott Williams
  • Tail Twister:  Lion Diane Isaacs
  • 1 year directors:  Lions Cathy Sills, Mike McEvers, and Steven Van Varick (Past President)

The following New Members were Inducted:

  • Lion Jeremiah Bradford

The following awards were presented by Outgoing President Lion Steven Van Varick:

  • Lion Mike McEvers - Lion Star Award
  • Lion Rosemary Wilsen - Secretary Award
  • Lion Fred Wilsen - Rainbow Award
  • Lions Cathy and Jim Sills - Hardwork Awards
  • Lion Diane Isaacs - Lion of the Year Award
  • Lion Tracey Tanner - Master of Coin and President's Award
  • Lion Melissa Tanner - Anchor Award (Pin)
  • Lions Scott Williams and Steven Van Varick - 10-year Wing Pin
  • Lion Diane Isaacs - New Member Pin

In additional we want to thank the officers from 2018-2019 and let you know we appreciate all of the work you do and have done.

Click here to edit text

Roaring Jeep and Truck Show

The 2019 Roaring Jeep and Truck Show is a wrap. The event was a huge success and we raised money for local charities. We had 37 Jeeps and 5 Trucks that entered the event. The following items were raffled off: Gift Certificates to Jeeper’s Den, Tire Rotation and Alignment from Crawford’s Tire, Recovery Straps, Tow Rope Set, and Bumper Jack from 4 Wheel Parts, and Shamrock Glassware/Golf Towel from the Ocoee Lions Club.

We would like to thank all of our sponsors and donators: Orlando Dodge, Design-X Restyling, 4 Wheel Parts, Crawford’s Tire Services, Jeeper’s Den and Truck Accessories, Pirate Life Jeep Krewe, Chris Darden, and Johnson’s Wrecker Services. We would like to thank all of the vendors: Mission 22, Legendary 1941, Design X Technology, Rim Squad, Orlando Dodge, Pirate Life Jeep Krewe, Not Normal Graphics, Ocoee Taco Company, The Pretzel Spot, Sweet Chicks Concession, Fun Faces Balloon Creations, 103.1 The Wolf and our DJ Mix on Wheels. We would also like to thank the West Orange Observer for supplying photographer Tim Freed to take photos of the event. Lastly, we would like to thank the community for coming out to support the event.

The following are the Award Winners:

  • Most Original/Stock Jeep – Sharin Faniel (#35)
  • Most Classic Jeep – Chris Darden (#25)
  • Best Non-Wrangler Jeep – Jamie Schelin (#6)
  • Most Creative/Graphics Jeep – Enrique Blanco (#23)
  • Dirtiest Jeep – Joseph Roberts (#22)
  • Biggest Jeep – Martin Pineda (#27)
  • Best Overall Jeep – Kermit Gonzalez (#19)
  • Most Classic Truck – Jim Sills (#5)
  • Best Luxury Truck – Candy Dwyer (#1)
  • Most Creative/Graphics Truck – Tommy Orndorf (#2)
  • Biggest Truck – Karina McAllister (#3)
  • Best Overall Truck – Karina McAllister (#4)

The following are the raffle winners:

  • $50 Gift Certificate to Jeeper’s Den – Janice Shewan and Amy Rojas
  • Tire Rotation and Alignment from Crawford’s Tire – Bo McEvers
  • Recovery Straps from 4 Wheel Parts – Brian Finger and Karina Pereira
  • Tow Rope Set from 4 Wheel Parts - Brian Finger
  • Bumper Jack from 4 Wheel Parts – Travis Watters
  • Shamrock Glassware/Golf Towel from the Ocoee Lions Club – Patrick Shewan

We will start planning the 2020 show soon. So keep an eye out on our website and/or Facebook.

To see photos go to: https://www.facebook.com/pg/ocoeelionsclub/photos/?tab=album&album_id=2655154791180491

#ocoeelionsclub #ocoee #jeepclub #roaringjeepandtruckshow #jeepshow #truckshow #fundraiser #piratelifejeepkrewe #johnsonswreckerservice #crawfordtire #orlandododgechryslerjeep #designxrestyling #4wheelparts #legendary1941 #ocoeetacocompany #sweetchicksconcessions #pretzelspot #rimsquad #mission22 #mixonwheels #wintergardenlionsclub

2019 Health Fair

The Health Fair in April was a success.  We are planning more Health Fairs in the near future.   Stay tuned.